“Quintet of Radiance”: Five Ennobling Awards!

And I thought I was above blog awards. Well …not if it’s a 5-pack!

Blogging has been revealing new things about myself. My lifelong conviction that ‘I don’t want attention / flattery’ – is obviously a sham. I’m trying to tell myself that even if one of the Quintet were real awards, I wouldn’t qualify. This is just a blogger-friend being nice – or worse, choosing the first name that appears alphabetically (only time I’ve topped a list is with ‘Adnan’ – take that ‘Aesop’!). But then my right-brain is cancelling out all reasoning by whispering sweet little nothings ‘you’re really that good – they love you, they really love you’. Here’s the thing: I am a southpaw / lefty and I favor my right-brain.

Much love to Deepa at ‘Inspiring Evolution’ for the nomination. I don’t know what it means – but I am lovin’ it.

Quintet of Radiance

Awesome Blog Content (ABC) Award

Inner Peace Award

Most Influential Blogger Award

Sunshine Award

Versatile Blogger Award

Cringing as I describe myself

Awkward, blessed, conformist, deep, egg-eater, filibusterer, God-fearing, honest, idiocrat-in-chief, Jordan-lover, kind, listener, meager, nepotist, ogler, pundit-impersonator, quiet, reader, structure-seeker, ‘try-hard’er, unsuspecting, vindictive, wary, xcandalous (?), yeahbaby-shouter, zesty.

The virtual ‘pay it forward’ thingy (Nominations)

To the nominees, even if you’re award-averse – like I thought I was – and are considering unfollowing me, think of this as a tribute from a neophyte. In no particular order:

  1. http://afkotecki.wordpress.com/
  2. http://kenthinksaloud.wordpress.com
  3. http://landofquo.com/
  4. http://notestoponder.wordpress.com
  5. http://myspiltbrains.wordpress.com
  6. http://playingatphilosophy.wordpress.com/
  7. http://singleisms.com
  8. http://broadsideblog.wordpress.com/
  9. http://artofaphorism.wordpress.com
  10. http://mypoliticalmusings.wordpress.com

Tonight, I don’t care if the awards mean anything or not. I don’t care if someone just cooked it up out of nowhere. I’ve had fun blogging. And I’ve had fun reading others. This is my tribute to all those people who take time out to apply themselves at – pour themselves into – blogposts that reach hearts and minds all across the world and over.

Image

7 comments

  1. Oh god!! You are such an attention seeker. I nominated you because I like what you write and it has nothing to do with what your parents named you dude.;) So pls skip that I don’t care about awards speech because it soooo Bollywood.

    Let the appreciation flow & keep writing. 🙂

  2. LOL, I enjoyed your take on this. First, thank you for nominating me – I was truly touched by that. Very unexpected and I take it as a true compliment. Second, I don’t think your rank in the alphabet had a direct impact. In my experience (such as it is) bloggers tend to give awards to other bloggers they really like – so, yes, you are loved 🙂

    Personally, I don’t put up the awards any longer just because I would spend so much time doing so, but I do really appreciate it when bloggers send me an award. It’s just a nice ‘feel-good’ thing and I’m all for that and for fellow bloggers supporting each other. So, again, thanks for nominating me – it is really appreciated.

    And finally, I’ll just add to your moment of self-indulgence by telling you that your blog is one of the hundreds I get every day that gets put in the “Must-read-once-I’ve-dealt-with-the-latest-crisis” pile rather than get deleted because I’m just too busy. My email notifications also get filed under research and I refer to your blogs afterwards as valuable resources. So this is one blogger who may not have given you an award and may not comment too often but who definitely values your posts every time.

    Best wishes

    Ken

    • Hahaha – hey Ken! I’m glad someone finally gets this post 😀 I know why you (and so many other great bloggers) don’t have the time for awards. And of course I was always going to nominate you – you’re one of the best I’ve come across. Can’t wait to get my hands on The Pukur either.

      Can’t thank you enough for the compliments – really made my day. I’m now in danger of contemplating yet another self-indulgent post at the thought of the many others who love me – but shy away from nominations/awards. Nah! Just kidding. Thanks a lot for the support – hope we catch up some time after all.

      • “one of the best I’ve come across” – I might have to use that quote as a soundbite for blog! Now THAT I can use 🙂

        Yes, I hope we get to catch up sometime too. Where about are you based?

What do you think? Drop a line - and I will too.

